Dreaming in Buenos Aires, Argentina

?Por donde empezar? – I guess the best place to start is with the basic fact; I LOVE BUENOS AIRES and overall I LOVE ARGENTINA!!

My fascination for this Country started when I was a little kid back at St Mary’s and I don’t recall if it was geography class, or if it was Sister Comelion (sorry, I can not recall her actual name, maybe Sister Rita, but she was known for having comelions from South America and playing guitar – Way cool – We had her in second grade for music class with Sister Mary Michael) or if was a book I read about a little boy growing up on a ranch in Argentina. Not to be to confused with the first book I ever remember reading, which some of you may know the story, and a quick side story for now, that a number of years ago, my mission was to find the first book I ever remember reading, which, to the best of my recollection was called A boy named Joey (no, no self grandeur here at all :)!! I did finally find the book, thanks to my brother Jim and it was actually called I am David about a little boy who escapes from a concentration camp in world war II – great kids book by the way, if you have not read it) – But, I seriously digress, …ever since those days of day dreaming in Sisters class at St. Mary’s, I have dreamt of owning a million hectares Estancia in Argentina, …which later in life I added to the dream also having a winery and restaurant and kind of dude ranch for developing need children… – anyway, I am a pretty good dreamer… – But getting down here, I finally got to see it all first hand and realize I was justified in my dreaming. I stayed in Buenos Aires for 4 or 5 days to start my trip and saw all the sights in the City. Then I rented a car with a cool couple from Canada, Carol and Neil and we drove down the to the beach and through the Pampas cattle country – We tried to stay at a couple ranches for the night, but they were closed for the season being later fall now in South America. No matter though, it was still amazing and I still want to own a ranch down here and do all the dreaming I had planned to when I was 8! – I will let the pictures do the talking… – and leave you with the dream!

My Estancia

My Dream Home - Estancia Bella Vista

Estancia Bella Vista


Cattle

Sunset over the ranch in Pampas region of Argentina!!

The Beach

The Atlantic Ocean - Argentina!!

The Ocean!!

The Beach - Atlantic Ocean, Argentina!!

The Beach!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Lake Country

Lake Country

Sometimes you need a little help from the tousimo department Argentina!!

Eva Peron Buenos Aires

Eva

Made of metal - 10 stories high on the Department of Health in the middle of 9 de Julio! - Smiling face to the south and La Boca

Rosada Building - Eva Peron's speech Balcony - Don't Cry for me Argentina!!

Family Mosolium in the cemetery Recoleta

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

La Boca, Buenos Aires

La Boca

La Boca

La Boca

CABJ - Club Athlectics Boca Juniors - La Boca - football!!!

San Telmo, Buenos Aires

San Telmo

San Telmo

The Tango

The Tango in San Telmo

San Telmo Sunday Street Fair

San Telmo Sunday Street Fair

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Centro, Buenos Aires (and something actually related to water :)!)

Water Pump Station - Now the Museum of Fine Art

Buenos Aires WaterTower - Now the Architure Museum

Other (non water) Central Buenos Aires

Congress Building - and the thinking man!

Rosado Building - President's Resident - Christina Rules!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Recoleta, Buenos Aires

Jesuit Church of Recoleta - near cemetery

Jesuit Church of Recoleta - near cemetery

Recoleta

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Food and Wine (An Atkins Dieter’s Paradise!)

Steaks

Steaks

Steaks

Steaks

Comar

Wine

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

…keep the dream going!!

Enjoy!!

About joesworldwatertour

I am starting this labor day, 2011 on an up to two year tour of the world to visit and work on water service projects in developing communities. I am a water engineer who has been working in the corporate world of consulting since I graduated from college too many years ago and I hope this will be a chance to use my knowledge and experience to give something beneficial back to the world. I am starting my adventure with four months of research and a little decompression time before leaving on world travels in January, 2012. - I love people and will be missing a lot of close friends and family over the time away, but also hope to meet and friend a million more ahead!!
This entry was posted in Photolog, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dreaming in Buenos Aires, Argentina

  1. Reblogged this on joesworldwatertour and commented:

    New Blog Post: Dreaming in Buenos Aires, Argentina

    • Bonnie says:

      Joe I love the pictures and although I often do not have time to follow your travels I always enjoy hearing about them and seeing pictures when I do. Take care Bonnie

  2. Sylvia says:

    Joe,

    How wonderful! I never wanted to own a ranch in Argentina …. Until NOW! I miss you my friend. Will send you an email later with additional thoughts for you 😉

    Drink it all in!!

    Affectionately,

    Sylvia

  3. Pingback: Dancing in the Street – La Boca « Swift Ink

  4. Martin says:

    Joe,

    It was by coincidence that I stumbled onto your blog. I am so glad that you have visited my homeland and very glad that you enjoyed your stay. I wished that i would have known you were going to Buenos Aires. I still have a lot of family and could have been very cool to show you a bit. Now I am kind of hooked on your blog, so keep it coming and hope you have a wonderfull time.,

    Martin

Leave a Comment, Please

